Register    Login    Portal    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Hobby Studio » Tips, Tricks & Tutorials

Post subject: Citadel spraygun/ recommend me an airbrush and compressor
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:04 pm 

Hey guys,

I'm contemplating buying the citadel spray gun so I can quickly basecoat my marines (namely assault terminators and predator.) I have two questions for those who have used one, do I need to spray an undercoat (I.e chaos black) or can I just use the foundation paint (mordian blue) as the undercoat? Also is the spray gun any good? I've never used one before so I'm a noob to all this. Would you recommend one for just basecoating models or is there something else you would recommend?

Thanks for your help

Ash

Last edited by ashmo on Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject: Re: Citadel spraygun, your thoughts?
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:41 pm 

Would be recommending Undercoating first, the spray gun is just to apply a basecoat evenly and quickly

In terms of the quality - its the cheapest spray gun you might find. The price reflects its quality.
In essence; its good, but it will need atleast 2 (preferably 3) citadel propellant cans (but can be connected to a compressor), and constant cleaning (thoroughly after each use).

Its good when it works. Though, I cant exactly comment on any other type of spray gun as I have not used any others, so it is quite possible the case is the same with other spray guns??

Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:48 pm